Week 8: RoR

roller_coaster

This week marks the second week of our Ruby On Rails stack. The best way I could describe my experience with this new stack is shown in the image above.

So far rails has given me great pleasure and also great frustration. Coming from the LAMP stack, Ruby and RoR has many aspects I have come to appreciate and one aspect I dislike. Some of the things that I enjoy bout this stack are the syntax, objects, errors, readability and probably a few more things that elude me at the moment as I try to save all this new found knowledge I have obtained this week. The one thing that I have come to dislike, at least in these beginning weeks, is the fact that this stack has a lot more automated tasks happening in the background that can be troublesome for me at times.

I really enjoy how literally everything in Ruby is an object. It allows for developers to implement methods on anything, even on numbers, making a lot of things very easy to read and understand. The syntax is less demanding in comparison to the previous stack. EDD (error driven development) appears to be much more clear in Rails due to the availability of various gems to enhance the developer experience.

The reason behind my comparison to a roller coaster is because I am still in the processes of learning how to think like a Ruby developer. Before I started my second stack I have heard that each programming language “thinks” a different way. After having spent the past couple weeks in Ruby I am beginning to understand what that means. After learning a few more languages I may begin to start understanding the differences between them and what each language has to offer.

At the end of the next week will be the exam to test our knowledge and understanding of both Ruby and RoR. As with the previous stack I am still a bit nervous because there are so many things I have yet to learn and understand. Looking forward to hopefully getting another black belt sticker! I have never worked so hard for a sticker before but these small incentives make the whole process a lot more enjoyable.

Until next week,

Happy Coding!

 

Leave a Reply

