Week 15: I Survived!

szyxll20r6ccewaahll28g_thumb_6e79

I like to compare coding today to the craft of medieval blacksmithing. It is a skill set that takes time to develop. You cannot be a master blacksmith overnight and neither can one become a master coder overnight. Many days the journey seemed tough, but at the end of each week you can measure how much better you have become. If you work on it everyday you can become better quicker.

This week was the final week in the program for my cohort. Time went by so fast. We knew it would, but could not have anticipated the returns we got by participating in this boot camp with maximum effort. I feel that I was very fortunate to meet such an awesome diverse group of people with various backgrounds all uniting under one roof to do something different with themselves that they were interested in. Throughout the time I have spent in the dojo, it was very clear to me everyday that we all wanted to be there to learn and build things. We did not let any of the difficulties we may have come across stop us in our tracks. I remember during our first stack how long a single error could get us stuck for, sometimes more than an hour. Now today I have seen my fellow peers including myself, ask for help on a problem only to discover the solution themselves.

For the past few months I have dedicated myself to the art of programming. Today I am proud to say that I am a Coding Dojo Triple Black Belt.

wydpttviq7mfixwsmdkipq_thumb_6e7a

The road was not easy. I could not have done it without the help of my fellow cohort members. I also understand that just because I got a few stickers it doesn’t make me an expert at anything. I find that these achievements symbolize the preparation towards becoming a journeyman programmer. There is still much to learn and this is now just the beginning of an even bigger journey. A few weeks of the residency program and we will soon be off into the developer world to see which path we shall follow.

Leave a Reply

