Sneak Peak Inside Dojo After Dark

logo.png

As I wrote in my last post, this past month I have been given the opportunity to work with a live code base. It has been extremely intimidating because of the sheer size and complexity of project. This exposure has inspired to me create my first large scale project. The project is Dojo After Dark.

Programming has really made a positive impact on my life. I find it fuels my passion, inspires me to bring ideas to life and challenges me. This past week I have taken the initiative to layout part of the foundation this project. What is it? In summary it is an open source project whose purpose is to build and inspire a community of developers.

Dojo After Dark gives the current students and alumni of the Coding Dojo an opportunity to:
– contribute to an open source project (It is going to look good on a resume too)
– house your personal site, project, resume, etc.
– continue developing your skills
– explore a live project created by many people just like you
– be part of a community of developers with a passion for coding
– explore code
– have access to an ever growing code base
– learn both new and old technologies with others
– provide an environment that will act as an incubator for new developers
– and much more!

Come check us out at the Dojo After Dark and get a copy of the project.
Monday – Friday
6pm – 8pm

We are having our first book night next Wednesday! The first book we are tackling is Eloquent JavaScript. Read chapters 1 & 2 before the meeting and we will go over the exercises together and answer any questions that come up.

Looking forward to seeing what this project will become!

Leave a Reply

