+700 EXP

levelup.jpg

This has been a productive week.

Stats
Tickets completed: 5
Major blockades taken down: 1
Total expereince gain: +700

Summary

Tickets
I’m getting more comfortable navigating and searching through the bazillion lines of code. I am starting to identify patterns allowing me to move a lot quicker through the various issues I am tasked with.

Blockade
I thought I saw a ghost in my code this week. I learned about A/B Testing the hard way.

Task: Change some static text on a specific site
Response: Easy peasy
Time: 2 hours later …

Within the first few minutes I was easily able to identify which file I needed to change by dropping my standard `<h1>H1 TEST</h1>` tag to make sure I am in the right place. Then I proceeded to changing the selected text, but it didn’t work. First thought, maybe its was getting loaded from another file? Moved the text down right above the selected text and it worked. Hmmmm, moved it below, still worked. … Droped the test into the <p> tag. Ah ha! Text now displayed twice. One was my text and the other I had no idea where it came from. I concluded there was only one reason how it got there. A JavaScript file was appending it to my p tag!

TL/DR optimizely made me think I saw a ghost.

Fun stuff this week.

Work EXP +500
Side project EXP +100
Drone Pilot EXP +100

3 thoughts on “+700 EXP

Leave a Reply

